Little Things are Big Things

Image

“Let me tell you something big: Give importance to little things!” -Mehmet Murat ildan

Today as I walked to the gym with my friend, I kept my eyes on my surroundings like usual. I watched people crossing the street, heading to the train, talking on their cell phones, and trying to stay warm. The chilly air stung my face and lungs. I continued to look around as I conversed with my friend. As we got closer to the gym, I saw a man about thirty feet in front of us. He wasn’t walking; he was crutching. This man had one leg. I wanted to say something, but instead, I let my mind do the talking. I thought with each stride that I took. I felt fortunate to have the ability to walk: walking is a big thing. 

I was tempted to title this blog “Remember the Little Things.” That is what we call walking, breathing, talking, seeing, and feeling, right? Because they are natural actions, we often forget about them, and classify them as little. Once I reread the potential title, though, I realized there was a big error. These things are not little at all; they are of significant importance, they are some of the biggest things of all. 

How would your life change if you were stripped of your ability to walk, to see, to hear, or to talk? I couldn’t even imagine the types of emotions I would experience having to deal with such a loss. Oftentimes when we lose our jobs, our friends, or some money, we label it as detrimental. I think that losing a job would be much better than losing a limb or my senses though. Maybe it is time that we reevaluate what is big and what is small. I always thought that jobs, money, a home, and other related items were a big deal. They are. They just aren’t as big as the things we tend to classify as little. 

My friend and I were at the gym for about an hour and fifteen minutes. As we left, I saw that same man again. He crutched. I could say that it was coincidence that I saw him twice, but I don’t think it was. I think that seeing him was meant to happen. I was meant to learn this lesson and to share it with you. 

While you experience your Friday, remember the “little” (or shall I say big?) things. Be thankful for each breath, for each step, and for the colors you can see. Be thankful for the ability to talk to others and to hear them, even if what they say isn’t something you enjoy hearing. 

If you were stripped of everything except these things, you would still be living large. 

 

One response to “Little Things are Big Things

  1. Pingback: Small Steps, Big Steps. All Steps. | Living & Loving

Leave a comment